La Voz de San Antonio 2014



The April 17th date at the McNay is NOW CLOSED

Slots still open for Palo Alto College and Carver dates



Poesia! Poetry! Recited, declaimed, or slammed!
Any age! Any style!
English, Spanish or Tex-Mex!

Anthony the Poet FloresClick on the image to hear more about La Voz de San Antonio from Ben Tremillo, with a performance by Anthony the Poet (Flores) on San Antonio Living

RECITE a poem (no more than five minutes long). The poem can be one you’ve memorized or your own original composition. Contestants will be judged on stage presence, voice, clarity and dramatic interpretation. You can compete in six categories: 7 and younger, 8-13, 14-19, 20s, 30-69, 70 and over. One winner will be selected in each category at each of our four events. All winners will compete in the Grande Finale for prizes.

Preliminary dates and venues
Thurs., April 3, 6-8pm at The Guadalupe Theater
Sun., April 6, 3-5pm at Palo Alto College (Pedernales Hall)
Thurs., April 10, 6-8pm at Carver Community Cultural Center
Thurs., April 17, 6:30-8:30pm at The McNay

The Grand Finale
Sat., May 3, 2-4pm at SAY Sí

Andrea Greimel
Andrea “Vocab” Sanderson
Anthony the Poet
Laurie Ann Guerrero
& San Antonio Poet Laureate Carmen Tafolla


Comments are closed.