Featured Presenters and Guests


Key Note Speakers

Octavio Quintanilla is the author of the poetry collection, If I Go Missing (Slough Press, 2014) and the 2018-2020 Poet Laureate of San Antonio, TX. His poetry, fiction, translations, and photography have appeared, or are forthcoming, in journals such as Salamander, RHINO, Alaska Quarterly Review, Pilgrimage, Green Mountains Review, Southwestern American Literature, The Texas Observer, Existere: A Journal of Art & Literature, and elsewhere. Reviews of his work can be found at CutBank Literary Journal, Concho River Review, San Antonio Express-News, American Microreviews & Interviews, Southwestern American Literature, Pleiades, and others. You can check out his visual poems in Gold Wake Live, Newfound, Chachalaca Review and Twisted Vine Literary Arts Journal. He holds a PhD from the University of North Texas and is the regional editor for Texas Books in Review.  He teaches Literature and Creative Writing in the MA/MF. program at Our Lady of the Lake University in San Antonio, TX. Find him on Instagram @writeroctavioquintanilla & Twitter @OctQuintanilla

Dr. Carmen Tafolla is a world-renowned writer and poet. Some of her most notable and bestselling books are The Holy Tortilla and the Pot of Beans, Sonnets and Salsa, and Sonnets to Human Beings. Dr. Tafolla has received various literary awards such as Tomas Rivera Mexican American Award for Children’s Books, Americas Award for Children’s and Young Adult Literature, and Charlotte Zolotow Award for Best Children’s Picture Book. She also won first prize in the National Chicano Literary Contest. She was also Poet Laureate of San Antonio and Texas.

Guests Authors

Vijay Seshadri was born in Bangalore, India, in 1954 and came to America at the age of five. His poetry collections include 3 Sections (Graywolf Press, 2013), winner of the 2014 Pulitzer Prize for Poetry; The Long Meadow (Graywolf Press, 2004), which won the James Laughlin Award; and Wild Kingdom (1996). His poems have appeared widely in such publications as AGNI, Bomb, The Nation, The New Yorker, and The Paris Review. Seshadri has received grants from the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, the New York Foundation for the Arts, and the National Endowment for the Arts. In 2015, he received the Literature Award of the American Academy of Arts and Letters. He currently teaches at Sarah Lawrence College, where he holds the Michele Tolela Myers Chair. He lives in Brooklyn, NY with his wife and son. Vijay Seshadri at poets-org

Vijay teaches Passionate Syntax on Saturday, July 21. Register at http://bit.ly/2jLoHAN

Debra Monroe’s first book, The Source of Trouble (1995), won the Flannery O’Connor Award for Fiction. Her memoir On the Outskirts of Normal (2015) was named one of the best books by the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Barnes & Noble and San Antonio Express-News, and her most recent memoir: My Unsentimental Education (2015) received a 4-star review from San Francisco Book Review. She has received numerous awards for her work, including the John Gardner Fellowship, the Quarterly West Novella Competition and The Violet Crown Award, and has been nominated for the National Book Award twice. The Chicago Tribune has describes Monroe’ prose as: “Keenly observed, funny-sad, un-self-conscious. . .  She currently teaches in the MFA program at Texas State University. http://debramonroe.net/ 

Debra teaches Art Speaks to Life: Writing the 21st Century Narrative on Saturday, July 21.
Register at http://bit.ly/2jLoHAN

Martín Espada was born in Brooklyn, New York in 1957. Recently named the 2018 winner of the Ruth Lilly Prize in Poetry by the Poetry Foundation, the first Latino to receive this distinction, Espada has published almost twenty books as a poet, editor, essayist and translator. His latest collection of poems from Norton is called Vivas to Those Who Have Failed (2016). Some of his many books of poems include The Trouble Ball (2011), The Republic of Poetry (2006), a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, Alabanza (2003), A Mayan Astronomer in Hell’s Kitchen (2000), and Imagine the Angels of Bread (1996). His many honors include the Shelley Memorial Award, the Robert Creeley Award, the National Hispanic Cultural Center Literary Award, and a Guggenheim Fellowship. A former tenant lawyer in Greater Boston’s Latino community, Espada is a professor of English at the University of Massachusetts-Amherst. His website is martinespada.net 

Martín teaches Writing Poetry of Political Satire in the Age of Trump: Somoza Unveils Somoza's Statue of Somoza on Saturday, July 21.
Register at http://bit.ly/2jLoHAN

Norma Cantú is currently the Murchison Professor in the Humanities at Trinity University in San Antonio. An award-winning Chicana writer and educator from Nuevo Laredo, her work has been published in numerous journals and through a number of university presses, such as her fictionalized memoir Canícula: Snapshots of a Girlhood en la Frontera (University of New Mexico Press, 1997), now being re-issued in an updated twentieth-anniversary edition. A groundbreaking editor and writer, Cantú has edited anthologies, such as Ente Guadalupe y Malinche: Tejanas in Literature and Art (2016) and collaborated with Marta Sanchez to create Transcendental Trainyards (Wings Press 2015), a collection of colored serigraphs and poems to evoke the role the railroad and carpas (itinerant vaudeville troupes) played in Mexican American culture. Cantú received the UTSA Globalization Award in April 2010 and was named Outstanding Latina of Kansas City by Dos Mundos Newspaper in 2011, among many other accolades.

Dr. Cantú teaches The Writer as Witness and Healer: An Open Genre Workshop on Sunday, July 22.
Register at http://bit.ly/2jLoHAN

Anel Flores is a community activist, writer, educator, and artist. UTSA’s Women’s Studies Institute recently named her 2018 Women’s Advocate of the Year. She is a member of the Macondo Writer’s Workshop and alumni of the National Association of Latino Arts and Culture Leadership Institute. Her first book, a collection of interwoven vignettes, was entitled Empanada: A Lesbiana Story en Probaditas (Korima Press 2013), and her work has been published in many anthologies, such as Entre Guadalupe y Malinche: Tejanas in Literature and Art (2016). Her work has been published in national and local literary journals, including San Francisco: Korima Press and SALIR Magazine. Flores has received many awards for her work, including a NALAC Fund For The Arts Award, a Vermont Studio Center Artist Grant, and 2017 Best of The Current San Antonio for Local Author. Her website is anelflores.com.

Anel teaches Distilling Big Ideas into Intimate Narratives on Sunday, July 22. Register at http://bit.ly/2jLoHAN

Veronica Golos, a renowned poet and editor, is the author of Rootwork (3 Taos Press 2015) and Vocabulary of Silence (Red Hen Press), winner of the 2011 New Mexico Book Award. She also is the author of A Bell Buried Deep (Story Line Press), co-winner in 2005 of the Nicholas Roerich Poetry Prize. Golos has taught extensively for Poets House, Poets & Writers, and is part of the core faculty of The Tupelo Truchas Poetry Conference. Her work has been widely published and anthologized nationally and internationally. In addition to being co-editor of the Taos Journal of International Poetry & Art, Golos is Poetry Editor for the Journal of Feminist Studies in Religion. veronicagolos.wordpress.com

Veronica teaches Writing the Moment—How do We Do it? on Sunday, July 22. Register at http://bit.ly/2jLoHAN

Comments are closed.