Autograph Series

Gemini Ink’s Autograph Series presents writers of national and international stature‚ many of them recipients of major prizes such as the Pulitzer or National Book Award‚ in a free public performance followed by audience Q&A and book signing. Autograph Series is partially supported by a ticketed colloquium luncheon with the visiting writer, which includes an “up close and personal” Q&A with the author. Previous Autograph writers have included Grace Paley, Tim O’Brien, Edward P. Jones, Ha Jin, Sandra Cisneros, Luis Alberto Urrea, Margaret Atwood, Philip Levine and US Poet Laureate Juan Felipe Herrera.


Download Terrance Hayes Media Kit


February 28 – March 1, 2019

Terrance Hayes’ poetry collections include American Sonnets for My Past and Future Assassin (2018); How to Be Drawn (2015), finalist for the National Book Award and the National Books Critics Circle Award; Lighthead (2010), which won the National Book Award, was a finalist for a National Book Critics Circle Award, and was nominated for a Hurston/Wright Legacy Award; Wind in a Box (2006); Hip Logic (2002), chosen for the National Poetry Series and also a finalist for an LA Times Book Award and an Academy of American Poets James Laughlin Award; and Muscular Music (1999), which won a Kate Tufts Discovery Award. His poems have also been featured in several editions of Best American Poetry and have won multiple Pushcart Prizes. A collection based on his Bagley Wright lectures, To Float in the Space Between: A Life and Work in Conversation with the Life and Work of Etheridge Knight, is forthcoming from Wave Books in September.


Free Public Author Reading

Thursday, February 28, 7:00 pm
The Laurie Auditorium
One Trinity Pl, San Antonio, TX 78212

Ticketed Author Luncheon

Friday, March 1, 11:30 am
Pearl Stable
307 Pearl Pkwy, San Antonio, TX 78215

Don’t miss out on National Book Award winner 
Terrance Hayes’ visit to San Antonio. Reserve your table now for friends and coworkers, or sponsor high school students at any of the levels below. Experience up close and personal the poet Mary Karr describes as having “A distinctively American voice to take on the new complexities of race and the old hardships incumbent in being human.”

Sponsorship Levels

Wind in a Box $10,000
Title recognition across all promotional materials as “presented by”; premium placement table for ten; signed copy of author’s book for each guest; reserved seating at Thursday night free public reading

Muscular Music $5,000
Sponsor recognition across all promotional materials; preferred placement table for ten; signed copy of author’s book for each guest; reserved seating at Thursday night free public reading

How to be Drawn $3,500
Sponsor recognition across all promotional materials; table for ten; signed copy of author’s book for each guest; reserved seating at free public reading

Hip Logic $2,500
Sponsor recognition across all promotional materials; table for ten; signed copy of author’s book for each guest

Lighthead $1,500
Sponsor recognition in the Program; table for ten; signed copy of author’s book for each guest

American Sonnets (for My Past and Future Assassin) $100
Individual ticket

Please respond by Friday, February 15, 2019 so we can be sure you are recognized on our Autograph Series materials. Many thanks for your continued support of Gemini Ink. Please indicate below how you would like your name(s) to be acknowledged in our promotional and event materials, or let us know if you would prefer to remain anonymous.

Thank you to everyone who purchased tickets.

Ticket sales now closed.

Special thanks to our event sponsors (last updated 2/25/19):